Monday, 15 June 2015

Kim's Review : Anathema - Cloud Prophet Trilogy

Megg Jensen's "Anathema", is another one of those series where I downloaded the first book for free - Amazon is still offering the first book free - but I was convinced to pay for the next 2 parts of the trilogy.

Forget prophecy. Make your own destiny.

Sheltered from the outside world with no hope for escape, slave girl Reychel dreads her fifteenth birthday - when her master’s symbol is burned on the back of her bald scalp. Her best friend disappears the night before, leaving her to face the branding ceremony alone. She soon discovers nothing is as it seems when people desperate for freedom beg for Reychel's help.

Can Reychel learn to believe in herself?

Reychel is a strong female lead. While she is involved in a bit of a love triangle, she isn't the swooning type of heroine, constantly fixated on the male leads. She thinks things through for herself and makes her decisions and follows up on them. She is willing to face the consequences of her actions and isn't afraid to stand up for what she believes is right.

For these reasons alone, I would heavily recommend this trilogy to young female adults.

Megg Jensens characters are not witches or vampires or werewolves, but there is a heavy element of  the supernatural in this fantasy series. Its easy to lose yourself in the fantasy, though it isnt a peavhes and cream one. Slavery and the belief in a saviour is the central theme of this story line.

Rating : 4 / 5

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...